• 1999

The Mediterranean Agronomic Institute of Bari (CIHEAM Bari) launched a Network of experts on Mediterranean Organic Agriculture (MOAN) with the objective of furthering organic agriculture in the Mediterranean Basin. MOAN gathered representatives from universities, research institutes, private associations and Ministries of Agriculture from 11 member countries of CIHEAM: Albania, Algeria, Egypt, France, Greece, Italy, Lebanon, Malta, Morocco, Tunisia and Turkey.

  • 2003

The first Euro-Mediterranean ministerial conference on agriculture (Venice) recommended organic agriculture to be regarded as a main factor of economic development for the region and a potential tool for strengthening the Euro-Mediterranean partnership.

  • 2006

MOAN became an Institutional Network of representatives from Ministries of Agriculture and it was enlarged; 16 countries joined the Network: Albania, Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Egypt, France, North Macedonia, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Montenegro, Morocco, Serbia, Syria, Tunisia and Turkey.

  • 2007

Libya, Palestine, Malta, Slovenia and Spain joined MOAN.

  • 2012

Portugal joined MOAN

  • 2014

Greece joined MOAN

  • 2018

Kosovo joined MOAN

At present, MOAN gathers 24 countries represented by delegated officials of the Ministries of Agriculture, in charge of organic agriculture.